020 7819 4700

Governing Body

Who's who on Lambeth Academy's Local Governing Body 2019

The Local Governing Body oversee the running of Lambeth Academy, which includes appointing senior staff, setting academic targets, ratifying school policies and reviewing the overall performance of the school. The usual term of office for a governor is three years. You can write to the Chair of Governors c/o Lambeth Academy. The Clerk to the Governors is Annie Bowman who can be contacted via the school office.

Andrew Carroll

Andrew was appointed Chair (Interim) on 30th January 2018.  He was appointed  to the governing body in July 2016 and holds the post of Chair of the Curriculum and Standards Committee. Involved in secondary science education in London state schools for 20 years , initially as a science teacher and most recently as a senior lecturer in education at St Mary’s University Twickenham. "Where I have been fortunate in being able to work with the next generation of science teachers, as I remain totally committed to the role of great teachers in improving the life chances of our young people."

Jean Ampah

Appointed as a Staff Governor with effect from January 2016 and will serve on the LGB as well as the Business and Premises committee.

She has been employed at Lambeth Academy since September 2013 and is a Curriculum Leader for Business, Enterprise and Careers. Within this role, Jean has a whole school responsibility for ensuring that there is clear provision for all students across their academic and employment pathways.

Jean has a keen interest to raise pupil aspirations within the academy as well as developing partnerships for the academy within the wider community.

Jo Clarke

Has worked at Clapham Manor for 25 years, 15 as Deputy Head and lives in the local community. She is on the Achievement Committee and at times, she stands in for the Head Teacher at full Governor meetings. She has a clear understanding of Lambeth Academy pupils prior to entry at the school, standards of achievement and positive relationships with the parent/carers.She is proud to be part of the Clapham and Larkhall Collaborative of schools making a positive contribution to the education and well-being of young people in Clapham. Both of her children have or are attending Lambeth Academy. She is a member of the Curriculum and Standards Committee at Lambeth Academy.

Andrew Morris

Appointed to the governing body in July 2017, Andrew is a senior trade union official in the education sector who has many years’ experience as a secondary school governor.  Originally from Wales, Andrew attended a state comprehensive school before going on to study at Oxford University and the London School of Economics.  He is committed to helping the academy’s staff support its students in making the most of the opportunities offered and achieving their goals in life.

Francesca Kippen

Francesca was appointed to the governing body in July 2018.

From a career in the City over the past 25 years, she brings perspective and professional experience from outside the academic community.

Within the governing body she will serve as Link Governor for Lambeth Academy 6th Form. In this role she will support the growth of the school’s 6th Form programme and leadership of students to aspire to further education and future career goals. 

Francesca is committed to Lamberth Academy’s vision of opportunity for the young generation through higher learning. 

Saoirse Brennan

Appointed a governor for the academy in July 2018, Saoirse is a strategic communications consultant working across a range of sectors including education and the arts. She brings with her experience of stakeholder engagement, media and public relations as well as a strong understanding of the current educational landscape.

Having grown up in the borough, Saoirse is particularly interested in ensuring that all local children and young people have the very best opportunities at school and enjoy a genuine love of learning.

Sophie Thieux-Billiard

Sophie Billiard was appointed to the governing body in April 2017.  Sophie was born and educated in France, and spent a year as an Erasmus student in Glasgow.

She has been working in the City of London since she graduated almost 18 years ago. She has been working in large banks as well as in a start-up asset management company where she gained board experience. Sophie has 3 children and is a local resident.


Chioma Oganya

Chioma served as Chair of Governors from 1st January 2014 to 1st September 2017

Freya Thomas Monk

Freya served as a Community Governors from 20th January 2016 to 31st January 2018.  She was the Link Governor for the 6th form.

Paula Ryeland

Served as a Staff Governor from 1st December 2012 until 19th July 2015. Paula left the Academy on 11th September 2015. Paula was a member of the LGB and also served on the Curriculum and Standards Committee.


Kennedy Imuere

Served as a Community Governor from 1st September 2008 until 24th September 2015. Kennedy was a member of the Business and Premises Committee and was also the link Governor for Inclusion including CLA/SEND.


Jim Grover

Retired from the Governing Body after 8 years of service. He was a member of the Business and Premises sub-committee and link Governor for CPD (Continual Professional Development) and the Science Department.

Lucy Bartley

Lucy served as a Parent Governor from January 2015 to March 2018.

Mark Jones

Chair of Business & Premises Committee and was appointed community governor in 2009. He was the link Governor for Safeguarding including Child Protection, Health and Safety and safer recruitment

Fiona Twycross

Fiona Twycross

Served as Chair of Governors from 1st September 2012 to 21st September 2016. She is a Londonwide Labour member of the London Assembly and was born and lives in South London. Prior to her election, Fiona worked for Diabetes UK most recently as Head of Governance. As the charity's Head of Campaigns and Volunteer Development, she led a campaign on the rights of children with long term conditions in schools.

Fiona is Chair of the London Fire and Emergency Planning Authority.

David Nichols

Served as a Community Governor from January 2016 to December 2016.  David was a member of LGB and Business and Standards Sub-Committee.

Kathrin Ostermann

Served as a Community Governor from January 2016 to May 2017.  Kathrin was a member of the Business and Premises Committee and was also the link Governor for Inclusion including CLA/SEND/PP.



Academic Calendar 2019 - 2020

Academic Calendar 2018 - 2019

Partner Logo Partner Logo Partner Logo Partner Logo IOE CI Confucius Classroom Partner Logo Partner Logo Partner Logo

The school is part of United Learning. United Learning comprises: UCST (Registered in England No: 2780748. Charity No. 1016538) and ULT (Registered in England No. 4439859. An Exempt Charity). Companies limited by guarantee. VAT number 834 8515 12.
Registered address: United Learning, Worldwide House, Thorpe Wood, Peterborough, PE3 6SB. Tel: 01832 864 444

Financial Accountability and Freedom of Information
Website Terms, Cookies and Privacy

United Learning